Athenry FC Archives 1977
Athenry win their first league title the Pierce Cup
Athenry Soccer Club won its first league title 6 years after its formation. This puts them in the Premier division for the first time in their history. They beat Galway Hibs 5-2 in their last game with Mike Kilkelly (2), Joe Greene, Gerry Doherty and Michael Mullins scoring. They won all 11 games scoring 44 goals and conceding 18. Is this a record in the Galway District league? Des Glynn was the manager, Peter Gilhooley was captain and Mike Kilkelly finished top scorer with 26 goals and.

Only 13 players were used for the whole season.
Manager: Des Glynn
Goalkeeper: Patsy Lynch
Defenders: Leo Coffey, Michael Morrissey, John Burke, Pete Gilhooley
Midfielders: Paddy Forde, Tommy Fahy, Gerry Doherty, Pierce Coffey
Forwards: Jody Connolly, Mike Kilkelly, Joe Greene, Michael Mullins