Athenry FC Archives 1983
Young Cup 1983

Athenry Soccer Club won its second league title the Young cup 12 years after its formation and 6 years after its first title. Athenry needed to beat Bank of Ireland in their last game to win the league and they had to come from a goal down to clinch it with Dave Ward scoring twice. PJ Killeen was the manager, Mike Morrissey was captain and the top scorers with 12 goals each were Dave Ward, Sean Monaghan and Joe Greene. This time a squad of 21 players were used with six of the players surviving from 1977.

Manager: PJ Killeen
Goalkeeper: Patsy Lynch
Defenders: Michael Morrissey (captain), Pierce Coffey, Dermot Monaghan, Pete Gilhooley, PJ King, Adrian Ruane, Niall Murphy, Willie Killeen, , Timmy Holian, Alan Prendergast
Midfielders: Michael Dunleavy, Paddy Forde, Tommy Fahy, Peter Hession, Tony Loughnane
Forwards: Sean Monaghan, David Ward, Joe Greene, Gabriel Glavin, Pat Hansberry